Reviews

9.5
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.8
Comfort
9.5
Property location
9.7
Facilities
9.5
Staff
9.9
Value
8.8

Reviews

    jp

    Review score

    10
    24 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Sarah
    sg

    Review score

    10
    21 September 2018

    Room was larger than it looked in pictures!

    Nothing
    Our stay at Ohanabo was perfect! We had the room with an attached private bathroom, and were pleasantly surprised that it turned out to be much larger than it looked in pictures. Very clean rooms and onsen, and super comfortable futons. The service was also excellent; everyone we met was warm, welcoming and helpful. The kaiseki dinner was also a fun experience if you’ve never tried one before, but I probably wouldn’t need to do it again on my next visit. We’d definitely stay here again!
    Tham
    my

    Review score

    9.2
    10 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    gmarac
    es

    Review score

    9.6
    9 September 2018

    Best accommodation we had in Japan, feels like home

    Just to mention something, we could hear some noise coming from the air-conditioning machines during the night.
    Amazing accommodation. All the staff was so friendly and helpful, always attentive to your needs and to ensure everything was perfect. The room was big and comfortable. Traditional breakfast was wonderful and different every day. Location is perfect, at a walking distance from Kyoto train station and many bus stops. It has two different onsens for men and women.
    Jenny
    au

    Review score

    10
    4 September 2018

    Perfection!

    I definitely recommend this ryokan for anyone who wants the traditional experience with the best location. I can’t emphasise enough on how wonderful and accommodating the staff are. They made sure that my partner and I were comfortable throughout our stay and thoroughly explained how to get around Kyoto. The ladies there even helped me out on my yukata and did my hair! The whole place is absolutely clean too. I also recommend having breakfast and dinner there too so make sure to book when you arrive.
    marina laura
    ch

    Review score

    9.6
    19 August 2018
    Excellent and friendly customer orientation
    Craig
    nz

    Review score

    10
    24 July 2018

    A truly wonderful experience

    I cannot recommend Ohanabo highly enough. It was a truly wonderful experience and we were sad to leave our wonderful hosts. The room was spacious, comfortable and with an excellent bathroom. For breakfast we received the most spectacular feast of 10 courses of traditional Japanese food. My wife has coeliac disease, and so is highly gluten intolerant - yet the host prepared 10 unique, gluten free meals for her (see photos), as well as 10 different courses for me. Amazing! Do yourself a favour and book now.
    Regitze
    dk

    Review score

    10
    16 July 2018

    Friendly staff - authentic experience at a ryokan

    I don’t have any negatives.
    The staff was very friendly and accommodating. It was a great experience staying there, and would stay there again or recommend it to friends and family.
    us

    Review score

    9.2
    15 July 2018
    Air conditioning was too windy, Futon was very stuffy
    Great location, friendly staff
    guillermo
    no

    Review score

    10
    14 July 2018

    100% japanese service and style

    The staff was excellent, kind and attentive. Breafast was a great experience
    Jenny
    hk

    Review score

    9.2
    6 July 2018
    Book here if you want to experience warm genuine hospitality, an unique cultural experience, stay at a great location (eg lots of food options nearby, 5-10 min easy walk to Kyoto Station, right across from from a temple etc) & eat delicious food! We would stay again in an heart beat. When we checked out it was raining heavily and we only had one umbrella between us. We did not ask for help, but they kindly started wrapping our luggage & backpacks in plastic, asked if we wanted to purchase an umbrella, and even gave us towels to stay dry while in transit to the airport. What touched us most was they how they farewelled us in the rain. Truly amazing Japanese hospitality at it’s best! Thank you for such a warm & memorable end to our trip.
    Theodora
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    27 June 2018
    The staff is extremely welcoming and the japanese breakfast was delicious. The extra touch of japaneae clothing was great! The common bath is small but clean and welcoming
    si

    Review score

    10
    26 June 2018
    Extremely friendly staff and amazing breakfast.
    Lois
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    18 June 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Jacques
    us

    Review score

    10
    24 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Yeying
    cn

    Review score

    10
    18 September 2018
    Everything is perfect. Staff are kind and warm, and they offered cute dessert every day!
    Anthony
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    27 August 2018
    Staff are super friendly and welcoming. They served a traditional Japanese breakfast, at extra cost, and it was excellent. The location is great in Kyoto right around the corner or some fantastic artisinal shops and across the road from Higashi Honganji temple a must see.
    it

    Review score

    7.9
    17 August 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Elizabeth
    au

    Review score

    9.6
    16 July 2018

    Fantastic location - friendly helpful staff - felt really looked after

    The pillows were hard
    The staff were amazing, super friendly and helpful. The onsen was divine
    ca

    Review score

    9.6
    26 June 2018
    We chose the room with a private bathroom (which costed about $30 extra), which was probably unnecessary as the shared bathroom was very clean and convenient.
    Everything! It was our first time staying at a ryokan and we were absolutely thrilled to try on the traditional yukata, take bath in the bath house (very clean and convenient!), and sleep on tatami mat with futon. It's just two blocks down from the Kyoto Station and right across from the Higashi Honganji Temple. Lastly, the staff was incredibly kind and welcoming! Highly recommend this place.
Loading reviews