Reviews

9.6
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.8
Comfort
9.5
Property location
9.7
Facilities
9.5
Staff
10
Value
8.9

Reviews

    ch

    Review score

    9.2
    18 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    William
    au

    Review score

    9.6
    9 April 2018
    One of the best experiences I’ve had. The owner is a cute little lady who is passionate about ensuring your stay is exceptional. Provided us with options on where to go in Kyoto and even drove us around at night to show us some sights. The food is incredible too. Make sure to order the dinner when you book. Definitely recommend.
    Cassandra
    au

    Review score

    10
    9 April 2018

    Wonderful authentic experience staying in a Ryokan!

    Ohanabo is a great place to stay, and a wonderful way to experience sleeping in a traditional Ryokan. The ladies who work there are so lovely, they cant do enough for you. They definitely make the experience. The onsen is nice too!
    Scott
    ca

    Review score

    9.2
    7 April 2018

    Great experience for our first ryokan.

    Staff were amazingly accommodating and delightful. The kaiseki was a work of art, which brought you on a tour of textures, colours, and flavour. Onzen is great for the end of day relaxation.
    Eileen
    sg

    Review score

    9.2
    3 April 2018

    Fantastic first time experience staying in a ryokan. Staff going the extra mile.

    The comfy beds, the friendly and helpful staff, the delicious breakfast and wonderful Kaiseki dinner, with explanation of each dish
    Ross
    gb

    Review score

    10
    1 April 2018

    Traditional and comfortable

    Breakfast was small portions but traditional and tasty
    The staff are so warm and friendly, they thought us how to dress in our kimono and served us green tea, the mini onsen was perfect aftoer our long rainy day in Kyoto and Nara
    Ju Ri
    au

    Review score

    10
    31 March 2018
    Breakfast was so good and loved the room:)
    Antoine Foullon
    ie

    Review score

    9.6
    19 March 2018
    Breakfast is too early !
    Everything else was perfect
    Julie
    hk

    Review score

    8.3
    17 March 2018

    Full immersion in traditional culture for one night.

    I don't like shared bathrooms, but in this case, I wouldn't have hesitated to book a room with a shared bathroom have I know in advance. The private bathroom is in my opinion not worth the price difference since it is small - and since you will undoubtedly make use of the traditional bathing and showering facilities. I wouldn't recommend perse staying longer than one night. If you want to experience a ryokan including having dinner and sleeping on a futon bed, one night is all you need. To make the most out of your stay (and your money) check-in early, spend some time in the bathing facility, have dinner and breakfast, and check-out the latest you can.
    If you want to experience a real ryokan, this is the place. From the entrance door, you are submerged in the traditional Japanese atmosphere. The friendly staff welcomed us (me and my boyfriend) with tea and a sweet and escorted us to our room. We booked a room with a private bathroom. Good to know if that this room is also the largest room available. From the room, you have a view of a large Buddhist temple. Even if your room is adjacent to the road, the sound of the traffic is not disturbing at all. This ryokan is an oasis of calm. Once in your room, the lady gave us a brief explanation and showed us the colourful cotton kimonos you can drape yourself in. Make sure during your stay to visit the Onsen bathing facilities (opens at 16.00). Notice that men and women are separated. I strongly recommend to book also the dinner - I send an email separately. You will be served a traditional Kaiseki meal in your room (wonderful tasting experience). After dinner, the staff will make your futon bed. Please don't skip your breakfast in the morning as this is again a pleasant experience.
    Tamsin Phillips
    au

    Review score

    10
    16 March 2018

    Wonderful!

    Wonderful, friendly staff who were always smiling and very helpful. The rooms were so clean and the Japanese decor and furnishings were beautiful. Couldn't rate this property highly enough.
    Andrew
    my

    Review score

    10
    14 March 2018
    Unfortunately the kitchen and public bath were being renovated.
    Great location and a very friendly service.
    Proawpattra
    au

    Review score

    10
    20 February 2018

    Perfect!

    Excellent view of mt. Fuji and very convenient shuttle bus from train station
    Natalia
    id

    Review score

    9.6
    17 February 2018
    Japanese living experience : the room, the bath, and the magnificent breakfast. Location is perfect, 8-10 mins walking from Kyoto Station.
    Thomas Ljung
    se

    Review score

    9.2
    13 February 2018

    Japanese for a day!

    A true Japanese experience with fantastic food, relaxing hot bath and amazing staff! Also within covenient walking distance of Kyoto central station.
    mingxia
    cn

    Review score

    10
    7 February 2018
    Staffs are beautiful helpful and warm,they always smile as your good friends, I like them very much,when I comeback to Kyoto,I will still live this hotel~
    Nicole
    cn

    Review score

    10
    30 January 2018
    Warm hosting & mindful services
    Michelle
    au

    Review score

    10
    29 January 2018

    Fabulous inn, with great staff and service!

    Brace yourself for traditional pillows - but request western style if you prefer.
    Our innkeeper Ayako was marvellous! She went above and beyond to assist us during our stay. She booked dinner for us the first night, concerned the restaurant would be too busy, and then proceeded to walk us over to the restaurant itself. The Inn is well located, within walking distance from Kyoto train station and opposite a major shrine.
    Leanne
    au

    Review score

    10
    27 January 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Luca
    it

    Review score

    9.6
    22 January 2018
    The staff was really really nice and helpful. They were sharing happiness and positivity. The room was large and clean. Dinner was excellent.
    Tracey
    au

    Review score

    10
    20 January 2018
    No negatives.
    Everything was great. The ladies made it feel like home and we will miss them. So helpful and beautiful.
Loading reviews